top of page
  • Writer's picturesquatsandsustainability

The Steps I’m Making to Lead a More Sustainable Life

Updated: Jun 21, 2020


So since I have already done a post on the my fitness journey I thought I would discuss the other journey I am on - the journey to a more sustainable life. This is a journey that I am still making baby steps on but I wanted to share that with you in case you’re on a similar journey.


So, the first thing I tried to target was my use of plastic. I wanted to do this in the easiest way possible, so to start with I changed the lunch boxes I used to bamboo lunch boxes, and got reusable snack bags. I also bought some reusable coffee cups as well as a few reusable bottles. I got literally all of this from TK MAXX and it was all really affordable. For me these really small, simple changes made such a difference. It also saved me money. Most coffee shops give a discount on reusable cups and I also stopped buying snack bags when I got the reusable ones. For me this was one of the smallest and easiest things I did on my journey thats completely cut down my single use plastic usage.


I’ve also been making an effort to stop buying from fast fashion. While I haven’t purchased from brands like Missguided, Boohoo or PrettyLittleThing, I have been guilty of the occasional ASOS bikini order and obviously I get sucked in to buying various activewear brands new leggings. And, in the current times, I’ve definitely made more fast fashion purchases than I’d like to admit. But, for the most part, most of my recent purchases have come from Depop, TALA or charity shops. Depop and charity shops are such a good way to shop sustainably. The amount of things I’ve bought for a fraction of the price from Depop that either still has the tags in or has only been worn a handful of times and is basically brand new is crazy. If for some reason you haven’t shopped on there I would completely recommend. As for charity shops I absolutely love them. The trips aren’t always successful but who can complain when you might get £5 Levis?


A smaller thing I am currently doing whilst at home from uni is shopping at farm shops where I can. Not only do farm shops have less plastic, all of the produce is sourced locally, meaning it obviously has a smaller carbon footprint than buying produce in a supermarket that may have come from the other side of the country or abroad. However, the only set back here is the expenses, which is why I doubt I will be able to continue this habit when I am back at uni.


Going forward I want to completely cut fast fashion out of my life and only purchase second hand or from brands made in a sustainable way. I also want to really cut down on my plastic usage and try to shop in more places that are plastic free. A great deal of my plastic consumption comes from foods and in the UK it does seem incredibly hard to shop plastic free, unless you live near a plastic free shop, which I do not.


I also want to try eating seasonally. There’s been a lot of research that suggests that eating seasonally can be better for your health and obviously, if you eat seasonably most of the produce you consume should be local and not have more air miles than you do.

My sustainability journey might be quite a short one but I have set goals that I want to complete in the next few years. Baby steps is definitely the way forward for my sustainability journey. I hope this has inspired you, whether you are starting a sustainability journey or just curious about how to be more sustainable.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page